[MR] [Lochmere] Fw: note [WARNING - HACK ALERT]

glistam108 at yahoo.com glistam108 at yahoo.com
Thu Mar 14 09:12:07 PDT 2013


Same thing happened to me too last week and I noticed the yahoo pattern as well.  A news story I read points to a flaw in yahoo's security (cross-site XSS vulnerability) that was exploited by a specific hacker, who then published a "how to."


Just a note, victims of these hacks may be unable to respond for up to 48 hours.  Once yahoo detects the large outgoing volume, it disables your ability to send any mail.  Sadly this measure is slow to kick in, often not stopping the messages until hours later.


-Nicolo



________________________________
 From: Grazia Morgano <grazia at graziamorgano.com>
To: atlantia at seahorse.atlantia.sca.org 
Sent: Thursday, March 14, 2013 11:38 AM
Subject: Re: [MR] [Lochmere] Fw: note [WARNING - HACK ALERT]
 
On Thursday, March 14, 2013 11:23:46 AM Karen Hume wrote:
> I've already come across 4 others besides Kalisa's that appear to have been
> hacked.  I just pass them on to the spam alert file.  All have been from
> folks on the Merry Rose.  Take care folks.

The pattern I notice is that they seem to ALWAYS be Yahoo email addresses. My 
mom's Yahoo was broken into a few weeks ago too. Has there been a phishing 
attack aimed at Yahoo users recently? (Hey Yahoo user login here at <link> to 
fix your account, blah blah, the page looks like Yahoo's login page but isn't, 
and if you don't check the address bar to see that it's not Yahoo, you give 
someone your password by accident)

Grazia
========================================================================
                   The Merry Rose Tavern at Cheapside
    List Info: http://merryrose.atlantia.sca.org/
  Submissions: Atlantia at seahorse.atlantia.sca.org
Subscriptions: http://seahorse.atlantia.sca.org/listinfo.cgi/atlantia-atlantia.sca.org


More information about the Atlantia mailing list