[MR] questions about websites that offer 'authentic' artifacts for sale

Miriel miriel.crawford at gmail.com
Thu Apr 30 23:08:21 PDT 2009


Ok, I have some questions about companies that offer artifacts for sale, and
claim they are authentic.

Sotheby's and other auction houses are good places for research (In so far
as 'proof of concept'?), and I'm not talking about those.  I'm talking about
companies that aren't apparently auction houses, but claim to sell authentic
ancient artifacts (complete with certificates!).

How can you tell it's authentic (especially through a photograph), and how
can you use the pieces as one more example.

Here's two examples of websites that I have questions about:
http://www.finnstyle.com/kalevala-jewelry.html and
http://www.worldwidestore.com/ (specifically, a couple of jewelry pictures -
http://www.worldwidestore.com/35773c.htm - highly suspect, with the facets
and rose beads; and http://www.worldwidestore.com/35600c.htm - these should
help get a feel for what I'm asking.)

Thanks!

Miriel

-- 
"There but for the grace of a demented deity, go I"  - Tales of the Folly,
by A. Fesler

http://miriels-place.tripod.com/ new stuff added

on Facebook: Dragon's Treasure



More information about the Atlantia mailing list