[MR] Yahoo Instant messenger scam.
Syr Justus de Tyre
atlantianbard at yahoo.com
Mon Feb 20 08:38:08 PST 2006
I'm writing to warn others away from a scam that I fell for.
I received a Yahoo IM from a friend of mine, and it had a link to a
photo page. When I clicked on the link it took me to the main yahoo
photo page, where I foolishly entered my login info.
The page is false, and is simply used to collect your info. A clever
trick because the Instant Message came from someone I knew. Once they
have your info, they then send out other invitations to the people in
your address book.
They also change the info in your profile, and your login password.
Making it impossible for you to access your account. (Yahoo is aware
and is working with me)
My wife has already received the invitation from my account, and being
more wise than I did not fall for it.
So if you receive the link from a friend, (my "justus1199" acount for
example) don't click on it, but report it to yahoo, and try and contact
that friend, as they probably don't know that their account has been
hijacked.
-Justus
Syr Justus de Tyre
King's Champion, Atlantia
http://justus1199.diaryland.com/
__________________________________________________
Do You Yahoo!?
Tired of spam? Yahoo! Mail has the best spam protection around
http://mail.yahoo.com
More information about the Atlantia
mailing list