<html xmlns:v="urn:schemas-microsoft-com:vml" xmlns:o="urn:schemas-microsoft-com:office:office" xmlns:w="urn:schemas-microsoft-com:office:word" xmlns:m="http://schemas.microsoft.com/office/2004/12/omml" xmlns="http://www.w3.org/TR/REC-html40"><head><META HTTP-EQUIV="Content-Type" CONTENT="text/html; charset=us-ascii"><meta name=Generator content="Microsoft Word 15 (filtered medium)"><style><!--
/* Font Definitions */
@font-face
{font-family:"Cambria Math";
panose-1:2 4 5 3 5 4 6 3 2 4;}
@font-face
{font-family:Calibri;
panose-1:2 15 5 2 2 2 4 3 2 4;}
/* Style Definitions */
p.MsoNormal, li.MsoNormal, div.MsoNormal
{margin:0in;
margin-bottom:.0001pt;
font-size:11.0pt;
font-family:"Calibri","sans-serif";}
a:link, span.MsoHyperlink
{mso-style-priority:99;
color:blue;
text-decoration:underline;}
a:visited, span.MsoHyperlinkFollowed
{mso-style-priority:99;
color:purple;
text-decoration:underline;}
p.Default, li.Default, div.Default
{mso-style-name:Default;
margin:0in;
margin-bottom:.0001pt;
text-autospace:none;
font-size:12.0pt;
font-family:"Times New Roman","serif";
color:black;}
span.EmailStyle18
{mso-style-type:personal;
font-family:"Calibri","sans-serif";
color:windowtext;}
span.EmailStyle19
{mso-style-type:personal-reply;
font-family:"Calibri","sans-serif";
color:#1F497D;}
.MsoChpDefault
{mso-style-type:export-only;
font-size:10.0pt;}
@page WordSection1
{size:8.5in 11.0in;
margin:1.0in 1.0in 1.0in 1.0in;}
div.WordSection1
{page:WordSection1;}
/* List Definitions */
@list l0
{mso-list-id:1412434623;
mso-list-template-ids:-121455816;}
@list l1
{mso-list-id:1483699719;
mso-list-template-ids:1510889640;}
@list l1:level1
{mso-level-tab-stop:.5in;
mso-level-number-position:left;
text-indent:-.25in;}
@list l1:level2
{mso-level-tab-stop:1.0in;
mso-level-number-position:left;
text-indent:-.25in;}
@list l1:level3
{mso-level-tab-stop:1.5in;
mso-level-number-position:left;
text-indent:-.25in;}
@list l1:level4
{mso-level-tab-stop:2.0in;
mso-level-number-position:left;
text-indent:-.25in;}
@list l1:level5
{mso-level-tab-stop:2.5in;
mso-level-number-position:left;
text-indent:-.25in;}
@list l1:level6
{mso-level-tab-stop:3.0in;
mso-level-number-position:left;
text-indent:-.25in;}
@list l1:level7
{mso-level-tab-stop:3.5in;
mso-level-number-position:left;
text-indent:-.25in;}
@list l1:level8
{mso-level-tab-stop:4.0in;
mso-level-number-position:left;
text-indent:-.25in;}
@list l1:level9
{mso-level-tab-stop:4.5in;
mso-level-number-position:left;
text-indent:-.25in;}
ol
{margin-bottom:0in;}
ul
{margin-bottom:0in;}
--></style><!--[if gte mso 9]><xml>
<o:shapedefaults v:ext="edit" spidmax="1026" />
</xml><![endif]--><!--[if gte mso 9]><xml>
<o:shapelayout v:ext="edit">
<o:idmap v:ext="edit" data="1" />
</o:shapelayout></xml><![endif]--></head><body lang=EN-US link=blue vlink=purple><div class=WordSection1><p class=MsoNormal><span style='color:#1F497D'>Lord Grimm, good timing as I was going to post one last post on this subject so thank you, you beat me to it.<o:p></o:p></span></p><p class=MsoNormal><span style='color:#1F497D'><o:p> </o:p></span></p><p class=MsoNormal><span style='color:#1F497D'>The rules posted for Royal Rounds stand as posted stating that one marshal is acceptable and it does not have to be at a formal practice. I have changed the handbook and also added a section that contain the posted rules. The issue is that during Lorelei’s time as DEM we agreed to make some rules changes which for some reason unknown a few of those changes never got processed in the last update. This was one of those areas. I am glad to leave the RR rules the way they currently are posted.<o:p></o:p></span></p><p class=MsoNormal><span style='color:#1F497D'><o:p> </o:p></span></p><p class=MsoNormal><span style='color:#1F497D'>Secondly to answer Master Siegfried’s question about the handbook. I spent a great deal of time putting it together and more so getting the Monarchs to approve and sign it. I believe in it and think it is and can be a great tool provided it does not conflict information. I spent many hours this weekend going through it and have updated it to assure this is not the case. Master Jonathas will be posting the update soon and it will be correct. All of the rules contained in it are now pulled from posted rules so there should be no issues. Also it was never my intent to subvert “the rules” so I’m not sure why that even came up? My push was to have a one stop place that new and experienced marshals could go to view rules, Marshallate information and other important information concerning archery. I see very clearly that many of our new MiT’s have a hard time understanding where to look for information and this was a way to solve that. I fully understand the laws in SCA and Atlantia enough to know that the book of law and policy is the only true law so I hope we can move past this discussion unless there is a reason to address it.<o:p></o:p></span></p><p class=MsoNormal><span style='color:#1F497D'><o:p> </o:p></span></p><p class=MsoNormal><span style='color:#1F497D'>So yes we are beating a dead horse at this point but my typo in that email was the cause for the confusion and I believe I have discussed this enough. Let’s go shoot, have fun and remember to throw some Atlatl’s as well!<o:p></o:p></span></p><p class=MsoNormal><span style='color:#1F497D'><o:p> </o:p></span></p><p class=MsoNormal><span style='color:#1F497D'>In Service,<o:p></o:p></span></p><p class=MsoNormal><span style='color:#1F497D'><o:p> </o:p></span></p><p class=MsoNormal><span style='color:#1F497D'>Janyn<o:p></o:p></span></p><p class=MsoNormal><span style='color:#1F497D'><o:p> </o:p></span></p><p class=MsoNormal><span style='color:#1F497D'><o:p> </o:p></span></p><div><div style='border:none;border-top:solid #E1E1E1 1.0pt;padding:3.0pt 0in 0in 0in'><p class=MsoNormal><b>From:</b> archers-bounces@seahorse.atlantia.sca.org [mailto:archers-bounces@seahorse.atlantia.sca.org] <b>On Behalf Of </b>Grimm<br><b>Sent:</b> Monday, October 07, 2013 5:40 PM<br><b>To:</b> archers@seahorse.atlantia.sca.org<br><b>Subject:</b> [Archers] Royal round Rules<o:p></o:p></p></div></div><p class=MsoNormal><o:p> </o:p></p><p class=MsoNormal>Maybe it me, and I am sorry if it seems like I am beating a dead horse but I still am unclear on a legal royal round score. The kingdom rules for royal rounds state:<o:p></o:p></p><ol start=1 type=1><ol start=1 type=1><ol start=1 type=1><li class=MsoNormal style='mso-margin-top-alt:auto;mso-margin-bottom-alt:auto;mso-list:l1 level3 lfo3'><span style='font-size:12.0pt;font-family:"Times New Roman","serif"'>The rules in Section III shall govern the scoring of the Royal Round. <o:p></o:p></span></li><ol start=1 type=1><li class=MsoNormal style='mso-margin-top-alt:auto;mso-margin-bottom-alt:auto;mso-list:l1 level4 lfo3'><span style='font-size:12.0pt;font-family:"Times New Roman","serif"'>For Royal Round scores to be eligible for submission to the Scorekeeper, they must be witnessed and recorded by a warranted Atlantian archery marshal.<o:p></o:p></span></li><li class=MsoNormal style='mso-margin-top-alt:auto;mso-margin-bottom-alt:auto;mso-list:l1 level4 lfo3'><span style='font-size:12.0pt;font-family:"Times New Roman","serif"'>Royal Rounds may be scored anywhere, anytime, an Atlantian archery marshal is present to witness/record it.<o:p></o:p></span></li><li class=MsoNormal style='mso-margin-top-alt:auto;mso-margin-bottom-alt:auto;mso-list:l1 level4 lfo3'><span style='font-size:12.0pt;font-family:"Times New Roman","serif"'>A marshal may witness scores for him/herself. <o:p></o:p></span></li></ol></ol></ol></ol><p class=MsoNormal>Yet in the handbook it states:<o:p></o:p></p><p class=Default><o:p> </o:p></p><p class=Default><span style='font-size:11.5pt'>A Warranted Target Archery Marshal with one witness present for scores to be official (two people minimum). The witness needs to be an SCA Member in good standing and be able to discuss the Target Archery Scoring System if asked by the Deputy Earl Marshal or a Deputy at some point in the future <o:p></o:p></span></p><p class=MsoNormal>And you have stated:<o:p></o:p></p><p class=MsoNormal>“As long as we are following our rules of 2 people present and one of them being a marshal, I’m good.”<o:p></o:p></p><p class=MsoNormal><o:p> </o:p></p><p class=MsoNormal>When I became a marshal, I asked several long time marshals if I could go to a range as a marshal, shoot and record a Royal round score and was told that this was OK.<o:p></o:p></p><p class=MsoNormal>Now according to the handbook I need a witness and he or she must be a member in good standing<o:p></o:p></p><p class=MsoNormal>Does this mean as per the handbook, that if I and a newcomer who is a non-member shoot royal rounds together, they cannot count?. <o:p></o:p></p><p class=MsoNormal>Thanks for clearing this up for me.<o:p></o:p></p><p class=MsoNormal>Grimm<o:p></o:p></p><p class=MsoNormal><o:p> </o:p></p><p class=MsoNormal><o:p> </o:p></p></div></body></html>